ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024: Unveiling the Participating Teams

As cricket enthusiasts around the globe eagerly await the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2024, the excitement is palpable with the introduction of a fresh format and an expanded list of teams. This edition promises to deliver not only exhilarating matches but also historic moments that will be etched in the annals of cricketing history.

The Lineup: Teams and Format

The participating teams for the 2024 T20 World Cup have been finalized, and the tournament is set to feature a groundbreaking 20-team extravaganza. With the USA and the West Indies securing their places as hosts, the remaining teams battled their way through regional qualifiers and rankings to earn their coveted spots.

Road to Qualification

The top eight teams from the 2022 edition automatically earned their spots, with Australia dominating the Super 12 groups. Following closely were Afghanistan and Bangladesh, securing their positions based on the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings as of November 14, 2022.

The final eight spots were fiercely contested in regional play, deviating from the conventional Global Qualifier framework. Africa, Asia, and Europe each had two qualification spots, while the Americas and East-Asia Pacific regions had one each.

Regional Qualifiers Unveiled

The journey to the T20 World Cup 2024 was not without its share of dramatic narratives, as teams battled it out in regional qualifiers for a chance to shine on the global stage.

Africa: Namibia and Uganda Shine

In a surprising turn of events, Zimbabwe, unable to capitalize on their strong start in the 2022 T20 World Cup, found themselves back in regional qualification. Namibia, determined to rectify their previous performance, emerged victorious in the Africa Qualifier, winning five matches in a row and securing their spot with a game to spare.

Uganda, the dark horses of the Africa Region Qualifier, stunned everyone with their remarkable performance. Overcoming regional rivals Kenya and delivering a shock defeat to Zimbabwe, they secured a top-two finish, earning them a well-deserved ticket to the global event.

Americas: Canada’s Triumph

With the USA missing out on automatic qualification, Canada emerged as the favorites for the Americas spot. However, their journey was not without challenges, as they faced stiff competition from Bermuda. After a shocking defeat to Bermuda in the Qualifier, Canada regrouped and secured their place with a convincing win on the final day. This marks Canada’s first appearance at the Men’s T20 World Cup, adding a new chapter to their cricketing history.

Also check Rahul Dravid’s Continued Stint as India’s Head Coach: A Triumph of Leadership and Commitment.

Asia: Nepal and Oman’s Battle

The Asia Qualifier showcased a fierce competition of collective talent, with Nepal and Oman emerging victorious. Oman’s early dominance in the regional final, defeating Nepal to top the group, set the stage for a compelling semi-final against Bahrain, which they won convincingly with a 10-wicket triumph.

Nepal faced a challenging path, needing a victory against UAE in their qualification decider. Aasif Sheikh’s brilliant innings ensured qualification for Nepal, overcoming the disappointment of missing out on automatic qualification in the 2022 T20 World Cup. This edition marks Nepal’s second T20 World Cup appearance and Oman’s third, having co-hosted the 2021 edition.

East Asia-Pacific: Papua New Guinea’s Dominance

Papua New Guinea showcased dominance on home soil, winning all six matches at Amini Park in Port Moresby. Their comprehensive victories, including a nine-wicket win over Vanuatu and a 117-run triumph over the Philippines, solidified their place in the global event. Assad Vala’s leadership and the team’s stellar performance ignited celebrations in front of a jubilant Port Moresby crowd.

Europe: Ireland and Scotland’s Duel

The shock win by the Netherlands over South Africa during the 2022 T20 World Cup proved beneficial for the European region, as the Dutch secured automatic qualification for 2024. This allowed Scotland and Ireland to navigate through the regional final with ease until their clash on the final day.

The showdown between the already-qualified teams was a high-scoring affair, with Scotland’s 213/6 narrowly edging out Ireland’s 205/9. Brandon McMullen’s impressive 68 (35) was overshadowed by Brad Currie’s stellar bowling performance, claiming 5/13 (4) and earning him the Player of the Match accolades.

The Road Ahead: Super Eights and Beyond

With the teams now finalized, the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is poised to introduce a captivating Super Eights phase. The top two teams from each of the four groups will advance, setting the stage for intense battles and strategic showdowns. The excitement will reach its zenith as the journey progresses towards the semi-finals, where only the best will have the chance to vie for cricketing glory.


As cricket enthusiasts prepare for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2024, the anticipation is unparalleled. The tournament’s new format, coupled with the diverse lineup of teams, ensures that fans will witness a cricketing spectacle like never before. From the jubilation of qualifying teams to the nail-biting encounters in the regional qualifiers, every moment has contributed to the rich tapestry of this cricketing extravaganza.

In the coming months, as the world gears up for the T20 World Cup, cricket aficionados can expect a rollercoaster ride of emotions, breathtaking performances, and perhaps, a few underdog stories that will etch themselves into the hearts of fans worldwide. The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is not just a cricket tournament; it is a celebration of the spirit of the game and a testament to the global reach and appeal of this beloved sport. Get ready for a cricketing carnival that promises to redefine the boundaries of excitement and unite fans from every corner of the cricketing world.