The Nepal men’s cricket team made history in their match against Mongolia | Asian Games

In a historic Asian Games fixture in Hangzhou, nineteen-year-old Kushal Malla’s extraordinary 34-ball century set a new record for the fastest T20 hundred, leading Nepal to an emphatic 273-run victory over Mongolia.

This monumental victory also witnessed several other remarkable records being established, including the highest team total in T20 cricket at 314/3, breaking the 300-run barrier for the first time. Dipendra Singh registered the fastest T20 fifty, achieving it in just 9 balls. Moreover, Nepal secured the largest victory margin in T20 cricket history.

The initial stages of the innings saw Kushal Bhurtel and Aasif Sheikh dismissed before the 8-over mark, but their slow scoring was compensated by the extras conceded by Mongolia’s bowlers. The partnership of Kushal Malla and Rohit Paudel transformed the game, as they combined for an astonishing 193-run partnership in just 65 balls. Malla’s century in 34 balls surpassed the previous record of 35 balls held by Rohit Sharma, David Miller, and Sudesh Wickramasekara.

The fourth-wicket partnership, featuring Dipendra Singh, was the icing on the cake, amassing 55 runs in just 11 balls, at a remarkable strike rate of 500. Dipendra Singh’s record nine-ball fifty included eight sixes.

NEP Innings

Kushal Bhurtel19232082.61
Aasif Sheikh (wk)16172094.12
Kushal Malla*13750812274.00
Rohit Paudel (c)612726225.93
Dipendra Singh*521008520.00

Extra- 29 (b 2, lb 0, w 20, nb 7, p 0)

Total- 314 (3 wkts, 20 Ov)

Nepal concluded their innings with an astounding total of 314/3, and Mongolia’s ordeal continued during their run-chase. Mongolia’s batting lineup crumbled, managing just 41 runs in 79 balls. Only one batter reached double figures, and no partnership exceeded 9 runs. The extras contributed significantly, totaling 23 runs, while the batters collectively scored a mere 18 runs, including 5 ducks. The extras conceded by Mongolia’s bowlers amounted to an astonishing 52 runs, sealing their fate in a resounding 273-run defeat against Nepal.

Brief Scores

Nepal: 314-3 in 20 overs (Kushal Malla 137*, Rohit Paudel 61, Dipendra Singh 52*, Luvsanzundui Erdenebulgan 1-47)

Mongolia: 41 all-out in 13.1 overs (Davaasuren Jamyasuren 10, Karan KC 2-1, Abinash Bohara 2-2, Sandeep Lamichhane 2-7) Nepal won by 273 runs.