BCCI announces India men’s and women’s squads for 19th Asian Games

The women’s cricket competition is scheduled from September 19 to 28, while the men’s competition will commence from September 28 to October 8. Both tournaments will feature the exciting T20 format, promising thrilling matches and intense competition.

The BCCI has announces the squads for both the men’s and women’s teams participating in the upcoming Hangzhou Asian Games. The women’s cricket competition is scheduled from September 19 to 28, while the men’s competition will take place from September 28 to October 8. Exciting T20 matches await fans as both tournaments unfold during the Asian Games.

Ruturaj Gaikwad will lead the men’s team, which features a talented lineup including Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, and more. Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, and Sai Sudharsan have been named as standbys for the squad. The team boasts a combination of experienced players and promising talent for the upcoming Hangzhou Asian Games.

Rinku, whose absence from the T20 series in the Caribbean raised questions, has made it to the squad. Alongside him, players like Dube, Jaiswal, Varma, and Prabhsimran Singh have also been selected based on their impressive performances in the IPL. Dube, in particular, had a breakthrough season, playing a crucial role in CSK’s historic fifth title win, showcasing his growing potential and skills.

Yashasvi Jaiswal made a remarkable Test debut against the West Indies, scoring a century on Thursday. He further etched his name in history by becoming only the third Indian player to achieve the milestone of scoring 150 runs in his debut match for the national team. Jaiswal’s impressive performance showcased his immense talent and marked a memorable beginning to his international cricket career.

Tilak Varma has also been named in the team set to face the West Indies in a five-match series starting from August 3. His inclusion adds further depth to the squad and presents an opportunity for him to showcase his skills against a strong opposition.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, who will lead the team in China, is currently with the Test squad in the Caribbean. His dual responsibilities demonstrate the faith placed in his leadership abilities. Additionally, Jitesh Sharma, a wicketkeeper-batter, and left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh have also been included in the squad, further strengthening the team’s composition.

On the other hand, the women’s team will be led by captain Harmanpreet Kaur, with Smriti Mandhana serving as her deputy. The team includes talented players such as Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaque, and Pooja Vastrakar. Additionally, there is a standby list featuring promising players who can step in if needed.

Notably, young pacer Titas Sadhu, who impressed during India’s title-winning campaign at the U-19 Women’s World Cup in South Africa, has been added to the squad. However, she is not currently part of the Indian squad in Bangladesh. The team also welcomes the inclusion of rookie spinners Minnu Mani and Anusha Bareddy, who are currently in Bangladesh. Furthermore, wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh, who was previously dropped from the Bangladesh tour due to fitness reasons, has made a comeback to the squad.

Cricket, after being excluded from the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta, has been reinstated for the Hangzhou Games. Cricket was previously featured in the 2010 and 2014 editions but India did not field a team. The Hangzhou Games, originally scheduled for the previous year, were postponed due to China’s zero-Covid policy, and now cricket has returned to the program.

The men’s team for the Asian Games will consist of a B squad, as the main team will be occupied with the 50-over World Cup, which will be taking place in India. This decision ensures that the main team can focus on the World Cup while allowing the B squad to represent India in the Asian Games.

The Indian cricket board had previously mentioned prior commitments as the reason for not entering the men’s and women’s teams in the continental mega event. Bhupender Bajwa, India’s chef de mission for the Asian Games, had stated that cricket was the only sport where India did not participate due to their preoccupations. Despite attempts to engage with the cricket board through several emails, they ultimately confirmed their non-participation when entries had to be submitted to the organizers.

The BCCI has a history of fielding two national teams, as seen in previous instances. Back in 1998, one Indian team participated in the Commonwealth Games held in Kuala Lumpur, while another team faced Pakistan in the Sahara Cup. Similarly, in 2021, Shikhar Dhawan captained a second-string Indian team for a series in Sri Lanka, while another team led by Virat Kohli was in the UK for a Test series against England.

It is worth noting that India has already announced squads for various prominent sports such as shooting, boxing, archery, and badminton, with the respective national sports federations (NSFs) unveiling their selections. These announcements demonstrate India’s proactive approach in sending teams for different disciplines to compete in the Asian Games.

India men’s team: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wk)

Standby list of players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan

India women’s team: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (wk), Amanjot Kaur, Devika Vaidya, Anjali Sarvani, Titas Sadhu, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Minnu Mani, Kanika Ahuja, Uma Chetry (wk), Anusha Bareddy

Standby list of players: Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaque, Pooja Vastrakar